Health Equity

Health Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion

The following resources have been carefully curated by OACBHA's Health Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Council to help explain the importance of racial and ethnic inclusivity. Please use and share the resources below as you think about the ways that communities of color interact with the behavioral health system and the disparities that still exist in your own communities, professions, and structural systems.

OACBHA's Declaration: Racism is a Public Health Crisis

Health Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion: Year in Review

Questions about OACBHA's Health Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Council?
Please reach out to Fonda Freeman, Associate CEO ( or call (614)-224-1111.


Click here to access the accompanying workbook

More than a Checklist

Equity Grounded Leadership Fellows Program

Through support from the Ohio Department of Mental Health & Addiction Services, in collaboration with the College of Behavioral Health Leadership, members of OACBHA have been able to participate in the first cohort of this new program that shifts the focus of cross-sector behavioral health leaders to intersectionality, equity, and anti-racism for behavioral health systems transformation. Click here to meet the fellows and learn more about the program. 

Health Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Council Members 

  • Chair, Helen Jones-Kelley, Executive Director, Montgomery County ADAMHS
  • John Aller, Executive Director, Stark County MHAR
  • Malaika Brewer, Health Equity & Cultural Competency Administrator, OhioMHAS
  • Jamie Carmichael, Chief Health Opportunity Advisor, Ohio Department of Health
  • Alisa Clark, Assistant Director, OhioMHAS
  • Erika Clark Jones, Executive Director, The ADAMH Board of Franklin County
  • Tony Coder, Executive Director, Ohio Suicide Prevention Foundation
  • Tammie Colon, Executive Director, MHRSB of Allen, Auglaize & Hardin Counties
  • Misty Cromwell, Executive Director, Muskingum Area Board of MHRS
  • Tracy Maxwell Heard, Executive Director, Multiethnic Advocates for Cultural Competence
  • Joseph Hill, Bureau Chief, OhioMHAS
  • State Rep. Dontavius J. Jarrells (D-Columbus), District 25, Ohio House of Representatives
  • Karen Scherra, Executive Director, Clermont County MHRB
  • Scott Sylak, Executive Director, MHRSB of Lucas County
  • Marti Taylor, President and CEO, OneFifteen
  • Kate Tullio, Director, Health Equity, CareSource
  • Aimee Wade, Executive Director, County of Summit ADM Board
  • Juliet Dorris-Williams, Executive Director, The Peer Center
  • Deanna Vietz, Executive Director, Brown County Board of MHAS